Posted by: kitkat | March 9, 2007

April is poetry month

In honor of National Poetry Month, I have put up a display of books on… you guessed it… POETRY!

poetry picture books

We have some picture books full of poems…

and for the more sophisticated, we have…

poetry books

More poetry! We have some horse poems, poems about birds and poems about corn flakes. We have poems about dinosaurs and poems about nonsense! Come in and check out our poems… even come in and write one. I’ll post it on our wall or put it on our blog.

And now for a poem.

Falling Up

I tripped on my shoelace
And I fell up-
Up to the roof tops,
Up over the town,
Up past the tree tops,
Up over the mountains,
Up where the colors
Blend into the sounds.
But it got me so dizzy
When I looked around,
I got sick to my stomach
And I threw down.

From Falling Up by Shel Silverstein

Check out this site for things that you can do during National Poetry Month!

Responses

  1. You know, I must really be looking ahead, because I knew it was March in the back of my head, but I guess I’m just really looking forward to April since: 1) I love poetry 2) my birthday is April 18. oops!


Leave a Reply

Categories

